“We’ll all float on alright”

I’m a huge fan of floating shelves! They are so modern, functional, classic, simple, and elegant. Floating shelves also really make your trinkets pop! While browsing the web I came across a post on Young House Love’s blog on how to build your very own floating shelves.  I won’t bore you with a detailed play-by-play. Rather you read this post for all the details on how to build them.

With my dad’s help we were able to follow the directions to create custom floating shelves for our home. I decided that I wanted 2 shelves above the buffet in the living room, and 2 shelves over the toilet in my bathroom. They turned out so great they have quickly become my favorite addition to the house yet.

Living Room Floating Shelves:
Since we moved the buffet into the living room I felt like it needed something to anchor it in the space. Floating shelves were the perfect solution because they are installed it makes the buffet seem like it belongs. Not to mention it’s a perfect place to store some fancy glassware and serving ware. Functional AND beautiful – swoon.
LivingRoomShelvesBathroom Floating Shelves:
Prior to the shelves, there was a mini storage thing attached to the bathroom wall. It wasn’t totally hideous…it just wasn’t my style. So, my first task was to remove it, patch the holes, sand the wall, and paint. I thought I did a pretty AWESOME job…if I do say so myself. You can’t event tell, look!

BathroomShelvesAfter that was completed, I was able to hang my 2 mini shelves in the same place. It really makes my trinkets really shine. Before you couldn’t even see what was in the glass case.
These shelves were surprisingly simple to install and are such a gem. Now that I have them I want floating shelves everywhere. I think I can survive for a little while with just 4…but I see more in my future.

2 thoughts on ““We’ll all float on alright”

Leave a Reply

